CALL FOR PAPERS:

International Symposium on Ubiquitous Virtual Reality 2010

(July 7~10, 2010 at GIST, Gwangju, South Korea)

http://www.isuvr.org

Emerging ubiquitous computing paradigm accelerates the convergence of different technologies to enrich the quality of services and user experience. Recently, there have been increasing demands of the end-users to have more control in generating, sharing and consuming digital contents in various forms of virtual and augmented reality. Thus, with this trend, it would be timely to initiate a forum to discuss and share ideas on the definition and the formation of an effective "Digital Ecosystem" which facilitate natural user interaction and empower user participation. The aim of this symposium is to facilitate intellectual exchange on working-in-progress research activities with the world's most active researchers invited to ISUVR 2010.

This year, we are pleased to invite you to participate in the 8th International Symposium on Ubiquitous Virtual Reality (ISUVR 2010) with the theme "Toward Digital Ecosystem", held July 7-10, 2010 in Gwangju, South Korea. We invite original and innovative idea papers on "Digital Ecosystems" in the areas of Web 2.0, social computing, context-awareness, ubiquitous-, mobile-, and wearable-computing as well as computer graphics, computer vision, virtual reality and augmented reality. Papers covering the following topics are welcomed, but are not limited to:

• Theoretical backgrounds/conceptual framework for U-VR Digital Ecosystem

• Fundamental technologies for U-VR Digital Ecosystem

- Web 2.0 and social computing
- Authoring and mashup
- Context-awareness
- Pervasive & Ubiquitous computing
- Computer graphics
- Computer vision
- Virtual reality & Augmented reality

• Systems and Applications for U-VR Digital Ecosystem

• Human-Computer interaction and design concept for U-VR Digital Ecosystem

Important dates:

- Full paper submission : March 19, 2010 (extended Apr. 2)
- Poster Submission : Apr. 2, 2010
- Acceptance notification : April 19, 2010
- Camera ready paper submission : May 9, 2010
- Symposium date : July 7-10, 2010

All the accepted papers will be

- included in the CD proceedings.
- included in the IEEE Computer Society online store.
- archived to IEEE Xplore(TM) and the IEEE Computer Society (CSDL) digital libraries

Invited Speakers

- Anton Van Den Hengel (The Australian Centre for Visual Technology/ Australia)
- Gerhard Reitmayr (Graz University of Technology/Austria)
- Joshua Lifton (MIT Media Lab/USA)

General Chair		Choonsung Shin	GIST, Korea
Organizing co-Chair		Ahyoung Choi	GIST, Korea
Program Chair		Hyoseok Yoon	GIST, Korea
Publication Chair		Hyejin Kim	GIST, Korea
Publicity co-Chair		Hyeongmook Lee Taejin Ha Jonghoon Seo	GIST, Korea GIST, Korea Media System Lab., Yonsei Univ., Korea
Student Volunteer Chair		Jonghee Park	GIST, Korea
Local Arrangement Chair		Changkook Jeong	GIST CTI, Korea
Technical Program Committee		Anind K. Dey	CMU, United States
		Bruce Thomas	University of South Australia, Australia
		Daniel Wagner	Technische Unversitaet Graz, Austria
		Albrecht Schmidt	University Duisburg-Essen, Germany
		Kari Pulli	Nokia Research, United States
		Michael Haller	Upper Austria University of Applied Science, Austria
		Vincent Lepetit	EPFL, Switzerland
		Joshua Lifton	MIT Media Lab, USA
		Gerhard Reitmayr	Graz University of Technology,
		Mark Billinghurst	HITLab. NZ, Newzealand
		Deepak D Rao	Samsung India Software Operation, India
		Xun Luo	Qualcomm, USA
		Antonio Krüger	Institute for Geoinformatics, University of Muenster, Germany
		Sehwan Kim	UCSB, USA
		Jinshi Cui	Beijing University, China
Advisory Committee		Woontack Woo	GIST, Korea
		Gwanheng Lee	GIST, Korea
		Kwanghee Ko	GIST, Korea
- - - - - - - -		Jihong Jung	Kookmin University, Korea
		Jongil Park	Hanyang University, Korea
		Seungmoon Choi	POSTECH, Korea
		Sangchul Ahn	KIST, Korea
		Gerard Junghyun Kim	Korea University, Korea
		Chilwoo Lee	Chonnam University, Korea
		Yanghee Nam	Ewha Womans University, Korea
		Yongduck Seo	Seogang University, Korea
		Junghyun Han	Korea University, Korea
Steering Committee		Sehwan Kim	UCSB, USA
		Youngho Lee	Mokpo University, Korea
		Say Jang	Samsung Electronics, Korea
		Jein Hwang	KIST, Korea
	1	B	